Creamy Kale and Mushroom Soup

Creamy Kale and Mushroom Soup

For some reason, I thought this would be one of those recipes that makes you sigh a heavy sigh once it’s finally done, and you finally get to sit down and enjoy it. Instead, it seemed too easy. When we sat down to eat it, my husband said “Mmmm this is good. It’s kind of like a beef stroganoff…” but of course, it’s vegan and well, I think it’s actually better!

I made some adaptations (made it vegan, decreased overall cooking time and simplified steps by combining) from this recipe by The Lovely Cupboard, which I found when I wanted to find a recipe that combined kale and mushrooms. I’m so pleased I found it! The only thing is, I ought to have made a lot more. So, here is my version:

Ingredients:
-16 oz. mushrooms, thinly sliced (I just used what I had which were baby bellas, you can use any variety/varities.)
-1 bunch chopped kale
-1 large chopped onion
-2 or 3 large cloves of fresh, minced garlic
-1 cup chopped parsley
-5 cups veggie broth
-2 cups unsweetened organic soy milk
-4 tablespoons earth balance or other vegan butter or less (cook onions in water if you want to omit this)
-1/3 cup whole wheat flour
-2 teaspoons paprika
OPTIONAL: 1 and 1/2 teaspoons lemon juice
salt & pepper to taste.

Directions:
1. Saute onion and garlic in butter on low heat for 7 minutes. Add finely chopped mushrooms, broth and paprika. Simmer on low for 10 minutes.
3. In a separate bowl, whisk cream (or milk) and flour together. Add to the pan and simmer for 15 additional minutes.
4. Remove stems from kale. Chop leaves and add to the pan. Simmer 5 additional minutes. Add lemon juice and parsley. Salt and pepper to taste. Serve with a sprig of kale on top.

3 thoughts on “Creamy Kale and Mushroom Soup

  1. Just pinned this! Looks YUM! (Oh, and the needle point is going well! Almost finished with the cityscape pattern. Will probably purchase the daisy chain within the next 2 weeks!) 🙂

  2. I made this and it was amazing. It is super healthy and easy to make. I am going to make it again for a family lunch this weekend. I might add macaroni to it this time, just to make it a bit more filling for everyone. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

Leave a Reply

