Vegan Chocolate Chip….

I'd bet no one would taste this and have any other thought than "Ohhhh yeeeah"

Muffins? Mmmm pretty sure I’d say they’re basically cupcakes. Or just really delicious and delightful muffins, that seem to surpass the amount of enjoyment one is supposed to have from consuming it. Whatever you call them, they’re freaking good. And easy! I think the only challenge in our house is keeping them around and not having my toddler throw mini tantrums wanting more. She clearly is a big fan, to put it one way.

Anywho, I figured I’d share my adaptation of Vegan Chocolate Chip Muffins, adapted with a combination of this vegan remake by Sarah and it’s non-vegan original, by Nigella Lawson. Essentially, I wanted it to be vegan but still really moist, a little bit healthier, still sweet, and still low on oil.

That bird got close for it's bird's eye view

Here’s what I did – I’m sure I’ll be doing it again, because it came out deliciously fluffy and yummy, with a crisp outside. Absolutely perfect.

MMMMmmmmmm yum.

Vegan Chocolate Chip Muffin-Cupcakes (?!?)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour + 3/4 cup all purpose flour OR 1 3/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar + 1/4 cup maple syrup (you might also substitute agave nectar or just use less refined sugar)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup non-dairy semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup soy milk
  • 1 TBSP egg replacer + 3 TBSP oil (or any egg replacement equivalent to 1 egg)

Instructions:

  • Mix dry ingredients first, then add wet ingredients.
  • Stir until well combined.
  • Pour into 12 muffin cups. (I used silicone reusable wrappers and had no problem)

Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. Cool, and try not to eat them all at once.

Leave a Reply

