Portobello Fajitas

Close up as I was finishing sautéing the fajita "meat"

I don’t think of myself as a chef, and didn’t expect to share any recipes with you that I made up myself… but I did make something yesterday that resulted in yesterday’s lunch. Then dinner. And lunch again, today. And I enjoyed it every single time. So, I figure hey. Maybe the little guys out there like me might like this, as well, despite my lack of culinary expertise or prowess. I do have a good ability to eat, and I like tasty foods. So, hopefully that lends itself fairly well to simple recipes? And hey. If I can make it and enjoy it without much worry, mess, or time then surely YOU can make an easy and delicious dinner out of it, too! 🙂

Anywho, I wanted to make a vegan portobello fajita that would be fast, easy, delicious, and nutritious! So here’s what I did.

Couldn't wait to eat it before I shot a pic. So, I unraveled it to show you the insides 🙂

Takes about 20-30 minutes. Serves about 6. (Confession: If you aren’t vegan, well… I have to admit that shredded mexican cheese would probably taste pretty fantastic with this, but I’m not going to talk about that! haha)

Ingredients:

  • 6 portobello mushroom caps
  • 1 red onion
  • 1 red pepper
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 bunch of cilantro
  • Olive oil to your preference for sautéing
  • 1 jalapeno, minced (or to your preference for heat)
  • 6 whole wheat flour tortillas
  • salsa for topping
  • fresh lime, for squeezing overtop (I didn’t have this on hand but I think that would be DIVINE!)

Instructions:

  • Prepare the vegetables first: Wash and slice the portobello mushrooms into long strips. Slice the onion into moon shapes (rather than chopping or dicing). Wash and slice the red pepper, either into long, thin strips or chopped pieces. Chop cilantro and mince the jalapeno & garlic, setting them aside in separate containers.
  • Place the mushrooms and onions in a large frying pan or skillet with some oil and let cook until the mushrooms approach tenderness. Add the garlic, chili pepper and paprika and let cook some more.
  • Once the mushrooms and onions are sautéed to your liking, add the cilantro and jalapeno, and mix.
  • Warm your tortillas. I did this by microwaving them for 15 minutes on a plate, individually.
  • Serve some of your vegetable mixture onto each tortilla and add salsa, lime and extra cilantro if you like; Enjoy!

It’s absurdly easy and also tastes great when you warm up leftovers!

Leave a Reply

