Marinated Kale Salad

I’ve already shared this with some friends because it’s so good that it’d be selfish not to share it. One morning I just felt kind of weak (due to pregnancy, no doubt, but more precisely why? I’m not sure) and had breakfast… and suddenly felt like I NEEDED to eat this kale salad. So, I did. At 9:30 am, I already had onion breath. But it was kind of incredible how quickly it made me feel better. I think this salad is like a miracle salad! It’s absurdly easy to make (the hardest part is washing the kale and de-stalking it if you didn’t buy it bagged) and has made me feel better whenever I’ve eaten it. If I wasn’t feeling sort of “off” or badly when I ate it, I just felt great afterwards.

Eat More Kale is a phrase hailing from Vermont. To read more about it, visit: http://www.eatmorekale.com

It’s packed with nutrients since it’s raw, and kale is a definite “super food” (I don’t want to blabber on and on about nutrients since there are a lot I could mention, but look it up if you’re curious!) so it’s always great to be able to get more kale in your diet! In fact, I read in a book about veganism about how misled most people are about nutrition, thinking of specific and singular items as good sources of vitamins/minerals… Like saying “To get your calcium, drink milk! To get protein, eat meat!” as if they are the only sources of those nutrients. The author said something to the effect that no one really says “To get your calcium, eat Kale!” but they very well could. In my not-so-serious dreams, I’d like to make a t-shirt that says something like “Fighting cancer? Kale tastes better than chemo!” but that probably wouldn’t be very well-received, despite kale’s “potent anti-cancer properties.”

But can I say again how easy it is to make? And like the best of recipes, there is room to fudge: you can definitely add to or adapt this recipe as you see fit. However, I’ve liked it so much that I figure why mess with a good thing? And despite having made it multiple times, I have yet to really change it. I’d estimate that this recipe (including prep time and marinating time) takes about 15 to 20 minutes, but it can sit for a few days in the fridge to be at the ready for devouring 🙂

I would like to present to you the Marinated Kale Salad compliments of VegNews.

The only key thing to remember about this recipe is that you want to allow 10 minutes for the marinade to work it’s magic – allowing the flavors to blend, and the kale to be tenderized. You’ll notice that the very fluffy, rough kale will become more manageable once this has occurred. The amounts of veggies in particular is quite flexible, and you can definitely add or subtract. I think I used a good bit more mushrooms… but I do not suggest upping the kale because when it’s raw, it has a lot of volume – but in our family, anyway, more avocado would be gladly received.

One of the MANY times I have made & enjoyed this salad.

Marinated Kale Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch fresh kale, de-stemmed (unless you use pre-bagged/pre-chopped kale – I’ve found it’s fine)
  • 1/2 cup sliced mushrooms (shiitake or brown)
  • 1/4 cup red onion, sliced thinly
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • 1/4 cup flax-seed oil
  • 1/3 cup fresh lemon juice
  • Tamari (to taste) – or soy sauce, shoyu, anything along those lines

Instructions:

  1. Tear kale into small, bite-size pieces and toss with all of the vegetables in a large bowl.
  2. Pour liquids over veggies and mix. Wait 10 minutes before consuming to allow the kale to tenderize and flavors to be soaked up.
One thought on “Marinated Kale Salad

Leave a Reply

